Grow Your Own!

by Piccadilly HillBilly

Before heading back to London for the week I always stock up from the Veg Garden. We grow a lot of our own veg at home and I urge you to do the same if you have the space. It tastes infinitely better than the packaged stuff you get in Supermarkets and I love the fact you don’t have to pay a penny for it. Plus there is something hugely satisfying about preparing a meal with food grown on your own turf.

Here’s this weeks supplies:

IMG_4788

Being a great enthusiast of all things edible, Rufus came along to help

IMG_4779

We picked Carrots, Beetroot, Spinach and Chard…

IMG_4781

IMG_4883

Big bunches of Basil to go with the tomatoes and for making pesto (I will go into more detail on pesto-making in another post)

IMG_4884

IMG_4885

And I wish I had spotted these babies earlier in time to fill them with Lemony Ricotta and Parmesan….

IMG_4886

IMG_4774

Even pup found something to chew on

IMG_4887

IMG_4789

It always makes leaving the Shire for London a much easier affair knowing that I am taking a little bit of countryside goodness with me.

